knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

Knitter Discovers Ancient, Buried Blog

Posted by Janis on June 24, 2008

Sheesh – ignore the blog for a couple of months and WordPress goes and changes EVERYTHING! I barely recognize this old place… except for the yarn everywhere.

So where to begin? I’m just going to try to throw out all the stuff I’ve been busy with since I haven’t been busy writing here. I left off with spring break…

We have been on the verge of a kitchen remodel for a very long time now and it’s finally happening this summer! Here’s a picture of my darling Dad masterminding the demolition of our old back porch, which will now be part of the new kitchen. Orestes and I raise hammer and crowbar in salute to his genius. We did the demolition, but our good friends at Kohnen Craftsmanship are doing the building. They start Monday – hooray!

It has taken an incredible amount of time to make all the choices necessary here — what kind of cabinets, flooring, countertops, appliances? What kind of lighting? A ceiling fan? What type of windows, sink, faucet? It has all become a very BIG DEAL because I know I will be living with it for the rest of my life. More on that project as it progresses.

On the knitting front, a couple of great meet-ups have occurred this spring/early summer: Stitch n’ Pitch in late May, and the Knitters Connection in Columbus the 2nd weekend in June. My friend Jill and I hit Stitch n’ Pitch sporting our t-shirts designed by Ravelry gal PinkTiburon:

We met a bunch of fun knitters, had hot dogs and beer (OK, and some nachos)(but we DIDN’T get the Ben & Jerry’s), and the Cardinals won. OH – and we KNITTED! I got most of the way through a little stocking cap I was making for charity – goes to one of the Lakota Sioux reservations in South Dakota. It was a gorgeous night at the ballpark. Our St. Louis LYS owners outdid themselves in putting together very generous goody bags — thanks, everyone!

Though I couldn’t attend the entire line-up of Knitters Connection, the all-day class I took with Cat Bordhi (yes, THE Cat Bordhi!) was well worth the trip. I met up with my Ravelry pal Darcy there and we had a great time talking, knitting, learning, and munching our way through Columbus’ North Market! I’m pretty impressed with Columbus, Ohio, I gotta say. They’ve really got their downtown area happening. We also made a pilgrimage to the Knitters Mercantile shop, the one that sponsored the whole Knitters Connection thing. It is a wonderful yarn shop — fantastic selection, incredibly warm and friendly staff. Here are Darcy and I in Columbus:

I’ve been getting some knitting done in and around all this other crazy stuff. Well, not “done” meaning “finished,” but I have several WIP’s on the needles: the Daydream baby sweater for baby Clementine (in an orange-y color, of course), a Phiaro Scarf for my friend Chris who just started chemo this month, and the Pink Mimosa top for myself, which is miles of mindless stockinette for the most part. The baby sweater is a welcome relief from the other two, as it has little lace borders and eyelet trim on the raglan decreases. How I look forward to that k2tog, yo, k2tog sequence!

OK, that’s quite enough for a re-entry into blogland.

3 Responses to “Knitter Discovers Ancient, Buried Blog”

  1. Welcome back! Good to see you again!

  2. winediva said

    Hey Girl!

    Friday Night Knitting Club needs to come with a freakin warning label. Seriously. Stupid cancer plot twist for no damn reason. I now hate her.

    However, I am in LOVE with a fab memoirist named Jen Lancaster. I highly recommend her second book: Bright Lights, Big Ass. I want to be her BFF.

  3. she married her boss dvd claudette colbert melvyn douglas 1935 she is secretary claudette colbert and her boss is melvyn douglas. once married, colbert discovers that douglas expects her to work as usual. she must also contend with his wealthy, snooty family, whose most hateful member is his spoiled brat of a daughter edith fellows by a previous marriage. rebelling against her repressive existence, colbert eventually puts her inlaws in their place and arouses the ardor of the strictly business douglas. claudette colbert julia scott melvyn douglas richard barclay michael bartlett leonard rogers raymond walburn franklyn jean dixon martha pryor katherine alexander gertrude barclay edith fellows annabel barclay clara kimball young parson ernie s. adams william arnold department head charles arnt manager of department store sam ash lynton brent news photographer edmund burns a.s. byron store watchman georgia caine fitzpatrick shipping: 3.24 total price 17.24 includes shipping and handling buy at the following link160 http://www.dvdsentertainmentonline.com/product/shemarriedherbossdvdclaudettecolbertmelvyndouglas1935

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

