knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

Happy Birthday, Dad!

Posted by Janis on March 6, 2007

dadnpup.jpgSeventy-eight years ago today, my father made his entrance into the world. It wasn’t easy: it had been a hard winter in Iowa, and my grandfather had to drive my very-pregnant grandmother into town on a horse-drawn bobsled. There was snow over the fencetops that year, they say. Grandma stayed in a house in town until Dad arrived, healthy and hefty at over 12 pounds. He was the fourth boy in the family, though the third had drowned at age two, not long before Dad was born.

Dad grew up, went to school, served in Korea, went to college on the G.I. Bill, met my mother and married her. He was a chemist for the Highway Department for over forty years, in that quaint custom we once had of being loyal to our employers. He’s been involved in Boy Scouts since my brother was a Cub, and helped more boys achieve the rank of Eagle Scout than I can count. He’s an accomplished woodworker and skier, and can make a pot of chili, an apple pie, or a stack of pancakes that’d make you weep.

Above all, he is the best father a daughter could have. Dad taught me to work hard, play hard, and learn something new every day. He and Mom have given me all I need to be happy in this life by their fine example. He is and will always be my hero.

In another week or so, we’ll be heading out to Colorado for our annual ski trip, now in its 25th year. We’ll meet up with my brother, his wife, and the adorable nieces for a much-needed recharging of family spirit. I can’t wait…

* Many thanks to my cousin Larry for scanning all the family pictures for us.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Dad!”

  1. k ray said

    Yes, he has more hair in the scanned photo, but can anyone love the guy any more or any less?? I think NOT! We love Lee! We love Lee!

  2. Piewacket said

    What a wonderful way to wish your Father Happy Birthday. Way to go dad, have a great birthday.

Leave a Reply

 
