knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

Me Old Bamboo…

Posted by Janis on April 10, 2007

dickvand.jpgIf you are a fan of the film “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang” (or even the stage version), please get out your cane and sing along. If not, bear with us while we relive our childhoods and kick up our heels. “Me old bamboo, me old bamboo – You better never bother with me old bamboo! You can have me hat or me bumbershoo’, but you better never bother with me old bamboo!” (I won’t tell you how long I Googled trying to find an image of Dick Van Dyke dancing in the corresponding scene from the movie.) (But how adorable is DvD in this pic? Oh, I just love him…)

bambuscarf.jpgThis scarf is the object of all this fuss about bamboo. I hadn’t tried bamboo yarn before, and I love it. The pattern is from “Victorian Lace Today” and is the easiest scarf in the book. It is very easy to follow (both chart and written directions) and though the recipe calls for pure silk, I thought the bamboo would drape nicely, too (at a fraction of the cost) and it’s working out. This may the first time one of my little “yarn exchange” ideas actually works out the way I’d hoped. On the other hand, one-fifteenth of the way into the scarf may be a bit early to tell…

2 Responses to “Me Old Bamboo…”

  1. Looks luverly!
    I’ve got 4 skeins of bamboo (2 white, 2 black), and am trying to figure out what to do with them. It’s probably going to involve buying more yarn 😉

  2. Janis said

    Thanks, Lisa – see today’s entry for update… Mmm – 4 skeins of bamboo – you definitely need MORE! You could do something really elegant with mosaics or other patterns with the b & w, eh?

Leave a Reply

 
