knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

Curve Ahead

Posted by Janis on July 30, 2007

In knitting news, I’m a little past the halfway mark on the Lacy Kerchief Scarf. I had a helluva time figuring out the increase directions on the garter stitch center panel — I figured there were 2 things the designer could mean and, stubborn Missouri mule that I am, I decided on the wrong one first, doggedly screwing up the pattern several times before conceding that MAYBE, just maybe … it was the second of the choices that was the correct one. Once that was sorted, it has been moving right along.

curve.jpgI am quite pleased with the curve of the curve that happened when I went from increasing to decreasing the center panel. I mean, really, a curve in my knitting that is meant to be there! An exciting moment in my knitting history…

I just signed up for my first knit-along, the Hanami shawl. It’s a gorgeous thing, full of symbolism about friendship and cherry blossoms, which I hope I won’t pollute with swearing over screwing up the pattern. The KAL plans on 60 rows a week, which is certainly doable and should mean that I can take my time and ask lots of questions and do it right. There! I’ve talked myself into it. Oh, did I mention it has beads, too? I’ll be adding beads for the first time, with a crochet hook so tiny that I could pass it through a pore on my face without feeling it…

lisaandme.jpgI forgot to upload this picture of Lisa and me in NOTL in the last post, and it got kinda crowded, so here we are. Saint Joan herself had just ridden past on a bicycle  and Lisa was getting ready to drive back to Toronto. It was so great to meet up — and to regale the breakfast table at the B&B with how we got to know each other and the bond one has with another when you knit a pair of socks for her. One of the women said, “Oh, that meeting on the Internet – it scares me!” I said, “She’s a knitter – and a doctor, to boot, for God’s sake! – she can do only good!”

Leave a Reply

 
