knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

I Need to Have A Yarn Sale

Posted by Janis on November 16, 2007

Well, I’ve just spent the better part of my free time the past week or so photoing my stash for Ravelry. I know, I know, I was one of the original scoffers at this endeavor, oh yes, I admit that. But then, when my school schedule went haywire this month, I looked around Ravelry a bit and thought, “Hmmmmmm…. that might not be a bad idea after all.” I think what clinched the deal was the feature that translates the stash into Excel. I have a stash spreadsheet, but I haven’t updated it since January, so I just figured, “What the hell — I’ll photo it, too.” It really wasn’t bad once I got started, and I feel I have a firm grip on what I have.

Which is TOO MUCH YARN. Really. There is yarn bought for projects I’m no longer infatuated with, yarn bought just for the sake of retail therapy, yarn in amounts too small for a project, as I refuse to knit dishcloths. This process has been a sobering one, my friends. It reminds me very much of my dear sister Paula, who was bi-polar and, when in a manic phase, would buy things, squirrel them away and forget she’d ever bought them. She once called me to ask if I was with her when she bought a dozen or more greeting cards she’d just found in a dresser drawer. No, I said, if I’d been with you, you’d only have come away with 3 or 4. It’s times like these that make me miss her even more – if I could just call her and say, “HEY! Were you with me when I bought the fuschia yarn – the 5th batch of fuschia yarn?” and she’d laugh and say, “If I’d have been with you, I would have made you buy the purple stuff I liked.”

So what I really need to do is have a yarn sale. I traded a bunch and gave away some on the Knittyboard over the summer, but this time I’m going for the cash. I’m all registered and ready to go on the “Destash for Cash” blog (http://destashforcash.wordpress.com), my photos are on Flickr ready to upload or download or go sideways, whatever it takes. I just need to let go.

And I must confess that I’ve spent the morning looking at Rowan Felted Tweed online and WEBS and Knit Picks, counting my chickens before they’re hatched. Hatched? Hell, they’re not even LAID yet. Better get to work.

Leave a Reply

 
