knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

“Hello, My Baby…”

Posted by Janis on November 20, 2007

180px-michigan_j_frog.pngSay hello to Michigan J. Frog, that fabulous Warner Brothers creation — a singing, dancing show biz frog. FROG is the key word here, friends — I’ve been doing a lot of it lately! First there was Dad’s sweater-beginning. OK, my bad — no way to fix that one but start over. I’m now nearly up to the armpits in the right color and it’s moving right along, looking good. I really think I’ll have it ready in time, and even BLOCKED properly, for once! ( Y’know, it’s always nice not to snatch a present back the second the recipient opens it, shrieking, “OK – now I’ve got to take it back home and block it! It’s really not finished yet!” I had to do that last Christmas with my niece Rachel’s socks and she almost started crying. “But I want to WEAR them, Aunt Jannie! They’re so comfy!”)

Since I’m feeling pretty good about the big Christmas knitting project, I figured I could cast on for a little one, too, just to give myself some options. Plus, we’ll be at Dad’s for Thanksgiving and I can’t be working on his sweater there, so I needed something. You understand. So I decided to be the last person on the planet to make a pair of Fetching fingerless mitts from Knitty. My niece-in-law (? Is that really a term for a family relationship? My sister-in-law’s adult daughter by her first marriage, anyway.) is an avid photographer and I thought these would be so handy for her. (Oh, and I really, really like this young woman.) I bought some Debbie Bliss Rialto (my LYS didn’t have the Cashmerino Aran in a color I wanted for her) and decided to spice it up with a skein of Ritratto. The pattern is written for aran weight, but knitted up tight at 4 stitches per inch on a US 6. So I figured using a DK + a fingering (light fingering weight at most) would give me about the equivalent of the aran/worsted.

WELL — au contraire, as my French friends say, au contraire. I went down one needle size automatically, knowing I’m a loose knitter. I was still way off. OK, down to a #4 – that oughta do it. NO. (Luckily at this point I’m still swatching. Lazily – on the same piece – changing needle sizes – but swatching.) So I figure, gotta be a 3. Yup, a 3’s gotta be the one. So I cast on with size 3 DPN’s. And knit the bottom ribbing, and one repeat of the cable pattern, and a couple of ribbing rows to truly be able to admire my pretty little cables…   fetchingprefrog.jpg

And started to think – huh! This looks kinda big. I mean, I have small wrists (it’s the only thing on my body that IS small, go figure.), but still… this puppy looked big. So I slipped it on. Let’s just say, the ribbing didn’t have to do any work at all. I could slip it on with no stretching required and it rolled around on my wrist with an inch to spare. Enter Michigan J. Frog…

So now I am faced with a dilemma: do I start over with even smaller needles or do I just start over on the 3’s and leave out one repeat of the pattern? Of course, what I should do is to swatch again, using #2’s or even #1’s, finding the accurate gauge and starting over absolutely properly. But that would take some of the thrill out of it, wouldn’t it? I mean, then I’d be sure to have the right gauge… * Sigh * And besides, these are supposed to be a quick knit and they won’t be if I have to do them on #1’s. (Uh oh, this project has just gone from an amusing alternative to sweater-knitting to “have to do them” … Maybe I’d better just start over on the 3’s and leave out a repeat.)

PS – Someone stumbled onto my blog by a search for “Race Bannon,” and another by Googling “Jonny Quest” – how great is that? (And how disappointed those seekers must have been…)

3 Responses to ““Hello, My Baby…””

  1. I’d vote for #2 needles – because if I left out a pattern repeat, I’d end up forgetting at some point, and going into autopilot, then screwing up the stitch count…

  2. Janis said

    Thanks for the voice of reason, Lisa. And isn’t the green a very Lisa green?

  3. Bubblebeat said

    Thank you for the {auspicious|good} writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to {far|more} added agreeable from you! {By the way|However}, how {can|could} we communicate?…

    Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website….

Leave a Reply

 
