knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

Blocking is Good

Posted by Janis on December 4, 2007

This is a quickie post – I just have to share something good with my Knitties: BLOCKING. Sunday was a gray, rainy, dreadful day, so I mostly laid around moaning about how depressing it is when it’s gray, rainy, and dreadful. When I finally got sick of myself, I decided to go ahead and block the first 2 pieces of the Dad sweater, just to see how it would look. OH MY – it is so nice! Still drying, but I tell ya — blocking rocks. I wish I had taken before and after pix, but didn’t think of the “before” in time. Will do the afters when it’s dry and sewed up, though it won’t be quite the same.

The blocking episode inspired me to knit up a ribbed headband for my almost-daughter’s birthday which is coming right up. A satisfying little knit and one to check off the list. So I went to bed a good deal more satisfied than I arose from it. And that is a good day indeed.

Last night I cast on the second sleeve for the Dad sweater and did the first 4 or 5″. Why, oh why can’t the first sleeve look as nice as the 2nd? I want all first sleeves and first socks to look as good as the second one – is that too much to ask? Hey, Santa Baby – if you’re listenin’ – that’s what I want in my stocking this year.

One last thought on holiday knitting: this year I decided not to try to knit for everyone on my list, or even everyone in my immediate family. I have to say, it is making the things I am knitting ever so much more pleasant… ahhhhhhhh! Of course, it also gives me a perverse little desire deep down to cast on MORE holiday gift items immediately, ’cause hey! – I got time to spare – but I am trying to resist that evil little voice inside of me. (I won’t tell you about the beading projects I swapped for knitting projects this year ’cause I know those won’t take but a minute. Honest. It just makes good sense.)

Leave a Reply

 
