knit*therapy

on knitting and healing and other stuff

Winding Up 2007

Posted by Janis on January 2, 2008

diasnow.jpgThis was the scene at Denver International Airport on December 27, as we waited (and waited) for our flight to Ft. Lauderdale. We were supposed to go through Chicago, but a wise and kind American Airlines associate named Rick (you know who you are and you’re fabulous) rerouted us through Dallas/Ft. Worth to get away from the snow. I hopped on Priceline, got us a great room at the DFW Hyatt Regency for $50, and voila! Lemonade — maybe even a lemon drop martini — it was sooooo nice to have a night to ourselves between the 2 family visits! Our luggage was somewhere else, but we were safe and warm, enjoying a great meal, cushy hotel room, and the front desk even hooked us up with complimentary toiletries so we could have clean teeth! If only I carried extra smalls in my knitting bag, we’d have wanted for nothing… When we did arrive in Ft. Lauderdale the next evening, we were rested, relaxed, and ready for another round of holiday cheer. Orestes is lobbying for building in a night like this every time we do the 2-family loop…

I did get a couple of things accomplished while waiting at DIA, namely winding a skein of Lorna’s Laces to cast on for Orestes’ pirate socks (again). Orestes said he had always wanted to be “one of those husbands who holds the yarn in old movies,” so I was in luck. Here we are: kikiwinder.jpg

When we finally got on the plane to DFW, I realized I needed the cream yarn wound, too, so I improvised this handy in-flight ball winder. (Orestes was sleeping.) It worked better than I had hoped and I was able to get through about half of the pirate pattern chart on the flight. I would be completely through the chart before I’d realize there was a problem, but that’s another story for another post. ballwinding.jpg

Leave a Reply

 
